Apologies for absence

… but this is no time for climate change scepticism!

For me, the last 12 months have been something of an emotional rollercoaster; and the ride has not yet come to an end. However, if I have any regrets about embarking upon research for a PhD, they are these: 1. I have lost the time and/or motivation to continue blogging. 2. I should have worked out how I was going to finance doing the research before starting it. Neither self-employment nor paid employment has proven sufficient to cover my living costs and pay even part-time tuition fees. Therefore, having tried and failed to secure external funding, I have now had to suspend my registration as a student. Furthermore, unless I win the lottery, I am fairly certain I will have to withdraw my registration completely. I am also fairly certain I am not going to win the lottery. This is mainly because I do not play it! But that is not why I am posting an item on my blog today. The reason for this post is merely to clear the way to post something more substantial tomorrow about the fact that: 2014 will be the warmest year in Central England for over 300 years (since records began) (From where the above image has been copied.)  

About Rick Altman

Possibly just another 'Climate Cassandra' crying 'Wolf' in cyberspace. However, the moral of the old children's story is that the Wolf eventually turned up!
This entry was posted in Anthropocene, Climate Science, Environment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Apologies for absence

  1. uknowispeaksense says:

    Sorry to hear about the PhD, Rick. It’s going to be hottest on record here Downunder too.

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Thanks, Mike. I hope your new business is going better than my research; and that you do not get more record-breaking wildfires and cyclones, etc.

      Like

  2. pendantry says:

    There are two reasons I can’t ‘like’ this 😦 Cheer up! The good news is that the graph strongly suggests your studies wouldn’t have done you much good in the long term in any case…

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Thanks, Pendantry. It is hard to cheer up when you can see that most of humanity is pursuing a self-destructive path…

      Like

      • pendantry says:

        Ah. My mistake: my comment was intended to be tongue in cheek. There is, of course, nothing to celebrate. But as a friend of mine is fond of observing: life is better than the alternative. I have the impression that Nero is an example of a loser of a leader: but sometimes I wonder what was actually going through his mind as he was fiddling (if indeed he ever really did such a thing). Acting to improve spirits in times of woe is a wise thing to attempt. Perhaps we need to throw a wake for the planet…

        Like

      • Rick Altman says:

        Positive thinking is certainly better than the alternaitve.

        Like

  3. anotheralionel says:

    Rick, you will not have been the first to have failed to finish a self inflicted academic course for reasons out of your control, or the last. Don’t be hard on yourself, first priorities are your own physical survival and that of your children. Your forthcoming article is sure to suggest, to those who understand the issue, that climate sensitivity is way higher than a certain Richard Lindzen has had people believe for a longer period than many realise. The long trail of the undermining of the true climate science message by this individual has been recognised in this recent article: You Will Never Guess Who Was Really Behind Britain’s First Climate Denial Propaganda… It is clear that Lindzen has much to answer for. Lionel A.

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Thanks, Lionel. I was clearly justified in complaining to MIT that Lindzen was guilty of academic misconduct in 2012… (Note for the unfamiliar reader – please just search this site for “Lindzengate”).

      Like

Leave a Reply

