Slow Down Climate Chaos

slow down climate chaos On motorways, your car will use about 33% less fuel if driven at 60mph instead of 80mph. In my car, this equates to approximately 10p/mile instead of 15p/mile. As such, for me, it has been an easy behaviour modification to make. However, as so many seem unable to do it, I have decided to put this sign in the back window of my car.

About Rick Altman

Possibly just another 'Climate Cassandra' crying 'Wolf' in cyberspace. However, the moral of the old children's story is that the Wolf eventually turned up!
This entry was posted in Climate Science, Economics, Energy Crisis, Environment, Fossil Fuels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow Down Climate Chaos

  1. Pingback: Another Week of Climate Disruption News, April 27, 2014 [A Few Things Ill Considered] | Gaia Gazette

  2. pendantry says:

    Excellent! I think I’m gonna grab your image and put it in my back window too. “On motorways, your car will use about 33% less fuel if driven at 60mph instead of 80mph.” Do you have a source for that? I’ve been thinking about making a bumper sticker to promote this idea for a while now, but the one I had in mind was aimed at trying to emphasise the potential cost savings of driving more slowly. As such, the numbers rattling around in my head are “19% saving driving at 55mph rather than 70mph” — sorry, I have nothing to back those numbers up either! I did have, someplace… hmm… a quick search leads me to drive55.org. Clever thing, sometimes, this innerwebz malarkey. Now, why doesn’t that site offer bumper sticker image downloads? Crap thing, sometimes, this innerwebz malarkey…

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Thanks. I did consider sending the idea to a relevant charity (to get them to mass produce it as a car sticker on a not for profit basis). My quotation is based on personal experience. I also notice that driving at 60 mph on motorways achieves a 62.5% reduction in fuel consumption compared with general pottering about (off motorways) otherwise.

      Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      For the record: A 25% reduction in speed will give more than 25% saving on fuel consumption because of the non-linear nature of the relationship between speed and wind-resistance.

      Like

Leave a Reply

