Versatile Blogger Award Winner – moi?

Versatile Blogger Award winner

I am extremely flattered that Mashed Potato Bulletin should have nominated me for this; especially since he has not long been a subscriber of mine. Thank you also to all my subscribers; especially those who have remained so even if I haven’t reciprocated. Please forgive me, it is nothing personal, I am still trying to work out how to manage this issue without crashing my email inbox, spreading myself too thin, or subscribing to everything and everybody. That said, in accordance with the terms of accepting this award, I hereby list (in alphabetical order only) 13 nominated fellow blogs/bloggers (you may notice a wide geographic spread – this reflects a deliberate policy of seeking out a wide range of views in every sense): ClimateSight – Kate is wise beyond her years and well-respected in her field – occasional guest author on John Cook’s SkepticalScience website. enviromint – An inspiring and aspiring young marine biologist – another youngster less than half my age who is way ahead of me at living in an environmentally sustainable fashion. Environmentaldefence – Naseem Sheikh should be an inspiration to all those living in less developed countries – the blogosphere is not just a “Western” toy – everyone else can have a voice too! Indulge – Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences – Lesley (another recent subscriber) runs an amazing blog about Travel – one to watch – as it may one day rival Trip Advisor. Also if you visit her site rather than travel it will reduce your carbon footprint. Nick exposed – Nick (another recent subscriber) – runs an endlessly fascinating photography blog (I enjoy taking photos too and occasionally incorporate mine into my posts [hence Nick’s visits]). OoAmerica – The best thing I have yet seen on WordPress – One man taking a road-trip around the USA with a video camera; asking anyone who will answer on camera “What’s your philosophy in life?” – It’s a brilliant idea and should go on general release when finished (IMHO). Our Voice: Politics Albury-Wodonga – In depth antipodean political analysis from Dr Ben Habib et al at the La Trobe University in the State of Victoria in Australia. Riverunderwater – I hope Colleen would not mind me saying she has many challenges but, despite all this, I have never seen anything to equal the exquisite detail in her amazing artwork. Sheeple Liberator – Sheeple Liberator believes that in an age of mass media and unrestrained consumerism, critical thought has never been more vital – Amen, Sister! StephenMarshall20 – A very impressive young man from Swansea. I may not agree entirely with his politics but I am in awe of his commitment (as a member of UK’s Youth Parliament, etc). The GeoChristian – Given my background, it has been very pleasing to find other Christians in the Blogosphere who accept that Young Earth Creationism is a 20th Century invention. Keep up the good work, Kevin. The Green Word – JP is an environmentally-aware Canadian citizen, unfortunately an all-too-rare species these days (within their Parliament at least). Weatherdem’s Weblog – As I keep telling people it seems, I am no climate scientist (I am a geologist turned environmentalist) – but whether it be computer modelling (Kate) or Atmospheric Physics (as here), I defer to the expertise of others. Also in accordance with the terms of this award, I hereby offer 7 random facts about me: 1. I am an Australian citizen born and living in the UK. 2. I guard my personal data quite carefully (oops!). 3. I used to like Orienteering. 4. I still like everything from Albinoni (i.e. classical) to ZZ Top. 5. I’d rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy (Dorothy Parker). 6. I think astrology is a mish-mash of ancient mediterranean religious nonsense. 7. I believe the children are our future, teach them well and let them lead the way (Jack Black Whitney Houston). 🙂 I wish all my nominees well and, even if you should choose not to accept (as this takes quite a while to do), I hope my nomination brings you some new traffic. Are you sure this whole idea isn’t much short of being a computer virus? 😮

About Rick Altman

Possibly just another 'Climate Cassandra' crying 'Wolf' in cyberspace. However, the moral of the old children's story is that the Wolf eventually turned up!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award Winner – moi?

  1. Katherine says:

    Congrats on the award! (Orienteering eh? My dad took me a few times when I was little and I thought it was like hunting for buried treasure. So I’m not the only one to get some nerdy pleasure out of competitive map reading…)

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Many thanks Katherine. Yet more weirdness: Not only did I build motorway junctions (a.k.a) highway intersections) on the beach – rather than sandcastles – by the time I was 10 I was doing all the navigation on family holidays to every corner of France.

      Like

  2. ooa revo says:

    Hi Rick! I’m honored by your nomination and support. Thank you and I’ll be sure to thank you in next post, part 2 coming soon!

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      I am truly amazed you have not been nominated before. Although I opted not to rank my nominees, had I done so, you would have been my #1.

      Like

  3. jpgreenword says:

    Hello Rick, I am extremely grateful for your nomination. I would like to accept your nomination. However, I am still relatively new to the blogging game and hence only have two or three blogs that I know well enough to actually nominate. Is this a problem? Either way, thank you for your recognition and your interest in my blog. It is very much appreciated.

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      No problem JP. As I said in an email response to Kate (ClimateSight), who has also politely declined… “…you will have seen I am suspicious of the whole thing. Having started to compile the post, I nearly walked away from it several times (but in the end settled for mocking it gently in the process of accepting it)…”

      Like

  4. enviromint says:

    I have nominated you for a Versatile Blogger award. Not because you nominated me. BUT because I genuinely enjoy your blog. I won’t give too much away, and obviously you don’t need to continue nominating people, unless you know 12 more people? 🙂 http://enviromint.wordpress.com/2012/02/10/versatile-blogger-award-little-me/

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      I am delighted you enjoy reading my blog; I do try hard to inject some humour into what I write. Given the seriousness of the catastrophe we are now facing, this is not always easy. Your comments are very kind; and give me hope that I am getting the balance right (in terms of not being too technical as well). I struggled to come up with 13 nominees so, no, I definitely won’t be doing it all again. However, it was a kind thought. Keep up the good work.

      Like

  5. pendantry says:

    Awards? Pah. Nominations? Pfft. A blogger craves not these things. Virus, it is, yes. Chain-letter like.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Travel Photos: Harlem Heights, NY « ooamerica: ooa's USA Road-Trip

  7. Byron Smith says:

    Although I’m joining this particular thread months too late, I’ve just discovered your blog and have been so delighted as I’ve been reading back to through many posts. I’ve decided to post my comment here because you acknowledge that you are (a) Australian and (b) Christian. I am also an Australian Christian blogger currently living in the UK (working on a PhD in Christian Ethics on the subject of ecological fears) and increasingly (over the last five or six years) convinced and concerned about the scale and significance of the various ecological threats, particularly though not exclusively climate change, and their implications for our society, communities (including faith communities) and sanity. Let me begin by saying thank you for putting so much time and effort into this endeavour and be assured I will soon post a recommendation of your blog on my own. In particular, I very much appreciate your work on the psychology of denial (a topic my own thesis touches upon) and I look forward to continuing to follow your work (I won’t sign up for email updates since I use an RSS feeder for all my blog subscriptions). Grace & peace, Byron Smith Edinburgh

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Thanks for your interest in my blog, Byron. I’m very glad you have enjoyed reading back over it. One of my many critics has suggested to me that I have replaced my faith in God with faith in Global Warming but, clearly, this is nonsense; as it is denying climate change that is now an act of faith. However, I think it may be true to say that I seek to convert fake sceptics in the same way that Christians seek to convert non-Christians (and I do indeed get very disappointed when I fail). My History page explains my current position and also provides a link to my old Falsifiable Theology blog (which documents the height from which I have fallen [faithwise]). Thank you for your kind words but, I have to say, all I have done in this blog is to try and share what I have learnt by doing my MA in Environmental Politics. However, by the sounds of your PhD topic, you would enjoy reading the work of an old friend of mine who is a Church leader in Shrewsbury and Environmental Spokesperson for Terry Virgo’s New Frontiers movement. His name is Rick Charlesworth and he blogs occasionally. However, his entire thesis on Christian environmental ethics is available online: http://whatyouthinkmatters.org/papers/article/towards-a-christian-approach-to-the-environment I hope we may stay in touch and would welcome your contributions elsewhere. However, I would like to recommend two other Blogs that you might enjoy by people whose grip on their faith is still firm: GeoChristian and What Would Jesus Eat?. I am afraid my own Blogroll disappeared when I re-designed my Blog and I have not worked out how to re-instate it…

      Like

      • Byron Smith says:

        “One of my many critics has suggested to me that I have replaced my faith in God with faith in Global Warming” Yes, it is a common charge that misunderstands what faith in God entails – amongst other things, a deep, abiding, observant and committed love for neighbour. And where the neighbours (global, intergeneration and even our fellow non-human members of the community of creation) are severely threatened, then Christian faith, hope and love can do nothing other than throw itself into passionate and thoughtful care. “I seek to convert fake sceptics” And I also agree that a “conversion” of sorts is needed if people are to awaken (another metaphor for a profound shift in consciousness, and in some ways better than conversion in this context) to the novel and dire ecological situation in which we find ourselves. “all I have done in this blog is to try and share what I have learnt by doing my MA in Environmental Politics” And have put it in an accessible (and searchable) format, which is a worthwhile contribution. Thanks for the links. I wasn’t aware of any of those sites. Looking forward to hearing more from you in future.

        Like

      • Rick Altman says:

        Thanks Byron. I really do think you will enjoy reading Rick Charlesworth’s thesis. I hope your RSS feed is working; and that you have therefore seen posts published this week – including today (i.e. just now)!

        Like

  8. Pingback: ooamerica USA Road Trip: Thanks, Portraits, Movie and Photos « ooamerica: ooa's USA Road Trip

  9. Pingback: ooamerica USA Road Trip: Thanks, Portraits, Movie and Photos - ooaworld: ooa's World Travels and Art

Leave a Reply

