A poetic interlude

I am not normally prone to being poetic but, while out walking yesterday, I found myself wondering what reason I have to feel sad. This is the result:

Close-up photo of wasp

Beware of the sting in the waspy tail

I am very fortunate To live in a country where life is fair. To know that for me starvation is rare. To be alive when so many are dead. To live in a place where most are well fed. To have use of four limbs when some do not. To have all five senses to use a lot. To be able to write and speak well ‘nough. To be unable must be oh so tough. To have fine children whom I love so dear. To have a fam’ly some far and some near. To have some good friends in whom to confide. To have a safe haven where I can hide. To worry for others who have been spurned. To say it is right to be so concerned. To fight for the rights of those in the Sun. For those who are now and and those yet to come. Copyright Rick Altman, 2012

About Rick Altman

Possibly just another 'Climate Cassandra' crying 'Wolf' in cyberspace. However, the moral of the old children's story is that the Wolf eventually turned up!
This entry was posted in Climate Science, Ethics, Intergenerational Injustice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A poetic interlude

  1. “I am not normally prone to being poetic”. Well, here’s one person who sees a talent that deserves more ‘air time’. It’s lovely, and thanks for sharing it with your readers.

    Like

  2. pendantry says:

    There’s no ‘fair’ divide ‘tween rich and poor. I may be fed, but others need more. We are promised change, progress to the win: But it all ends in lies, while we’re spoon-fed spin. These are some things that do make me mad And perhaps explain why I feel so sad.

    Like

    • Rick Altman says:

      Absolutely brilliant, Colin. You are clearly a natural poet; mine took me about an hour to transfer from my head to paper (and then make it scan). Many thanks for contributing. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: What’s wrong with a meritocracy? | Anthropocene Reality

Leave a Reply

