AGW denial – Possibly the greatest ‘false flag’ operation in human history?

As David Aaronovitch wonderfully demonstrates in his 2010 book, Voodoo Histories, people who believe conspiracy theories see false flag operations everywhere; the bombing of Pearl Harbour, the assassination of JFK, the death of Marilyn Monroe, the sinking of the USS Liberty, the outrage of 9/11… Aaronovitch also suggests a variety of reasons why people believe in conspiracy theories; chief among them being to make history seem more reasonable, and to make reality seem more bearable. In other words, conspiracy theories are history for losers; and/or an abdication of any possible personal culpability for anything unpleasant we see in the world. It therefore seems most odd (to me at least) that some people could claim that promotion of concern regarding the real and present danger of anthropogenic climate change (AGW) is itself a conspiracy because, if it is, it does not fit this mould. On the contrary, even if any of the above-mentioned historical events had been false flag operations they would all be totally eclipsed by the denial of AGW; which must surely be the greatest and most serious false flag operation in human history? As well as hoping that people will not attack me for my scepticism regarding their favourite conspiracy theory (at least not without reading Aaronovitch’s book), I also hope that cognitive dissonance will not prevent them from soberly considering who it is that has been lying to them for the last 30 to 40 years: — Is it the UN, the WMO, the IPCC, the vast majority of relevantly-qualified scientists, and now the majority of the world’s elected politicians? …or… — Is it the Fossil Fuel Lobby; the energy companies, and the business-elites; whose future prosperity is predicated on the continuance of business as usual, the uninterrupted consumption of natural resources, the production of things with built-in redundancy; and the avoidance of any or all difficult questions?

About Rick Altman

Possibly just another 'Climate Cassandra' crying 'Wolf' in cyberspace. However, the moral of the old children's story is that the Wolf eventually turned up!
This entry was posted in Climate Science, Environment, Limits to Growth, Scepticism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to AGW denial – Possibly the greatest ‘false flag’ operation in human history?

  1. Donald says:

    I think conspiracy theories would not exist if people/governments were more transparent. JFK, 9/11 etc were only turned into conspiracies because for some stupid reason the powers that be choose to keep us all in the dark rather than tell us the truth.. Good blog, Rick; I have bookmarked your site so I can now come here more often ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Rick_Altman says:

    Hi Donald, Thanks for dropping-in at last; and for your kind words. Thank-you also for subscribing; as you might have guessed – this is what I was hoping you (and others) will do. I therefore look forward to future excanges (here or there). If you have not read Aaronovitch’s book, I would really heartily recommend it. Alternatively (or as a taster) search this blog for my references to it. Rick.

    Like

  3. Rick_Altman says:

    Actually, I’m sorry but, my initial response to your comment will not do… When you say things “…were only turned into conspiracies because for some stupid reason the powers that be choose to keep us all in the dark rather than tell us the truth…”, you clearly betray the fact that you have not read the book; and (in my humble opinion) clearly need to do so! Lee Harvey Oswald was a lone gunman who had a history of trying to shoot people; and Oliver Stone may be a great film director but his movie was a work of fiction. Similarly, the WTC was not blown-up by explosives experts; and it was a plane that hit the Pentagon. The questions you need to ask yourself are (1) Where does this assumption that you are being lied to come from?, (2) What is the evidence for any kind of cover-up?, and (3) In what respect do you consider that the truth was, is, or has been suppressed?

    Like

    • Donald says:

      I have personally researched the JFK assassination and found the story of the crime case to be full of inconsistencies, lies and innuendos. I do agree in that Oswald was the lone gunman but as a computer expert some of the information I found shocked me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ However it would take a whole book and not just a blog to explain it all, something I am not willing to do but you should know there is a book out there which was “banned” by the US government because of the information it contains. The writers were virtually exorcised from the US for it because they offered not just proof of what they wrote but also links to people best not mentioned too often. ๐Ÿ™‚ Conspiracies do happen and many of them are true… just take a look at Watergate. As for the WTC attacks, they happened as we saw on the TV, but I do believe there was more people involved than meets the eye ….. again, as a computer expert I would only end up in trouble if I mentioned how I get my info ๐Ÿ™‚ PS: no, I haven’t read the book yet, I am so busy at the moment I have very little time for relaxation …. will probably be like this until the end of the year (sob) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

  4. jpgreenword says:

    When I was learning to be a more critical thinker, I was taught to ask myself “what does that person or group have to gain”. Which is why I find climate change deniers so odd (and I’m not referring to the lobbyists and oil companies, but rather the “average” person). For example, people will say that scientists are making this up for research grants. Ha! That’s hilarious! As if research grants are worth zillions of dollars or something. On the other hand, Exxon Mobil was making 5 million$ in profit PER HOUR during the first quarter of 2011. A scientist can lie, but the scientific community is setup specifically to avoid erroneous conclusions from gaining traction. But I think I’m preaching to the converted, so I’ll stop now : )

    Like

    • Rick_Altman says:

      Yes you are (preaching to the converted) but no need to stop… ๐Ÿ™‚ As for the scientific community being “setup specifically to avoid erroneous conclusions from gaining traction“, it looks like AGW denial is one that got away from them (I know – what you meant was within the scientific community) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • pendantry says:

      When I was learning to be a more critical thinker, I was taught to ask myself โ€œwhat does that person or group have to gainโ€. Which is why I find climate change deniers so odd (and Iโ€™m not referring to the lobbyists and oil companies, but rather the โ€œaverageโ€ person). I think that what the average person (in the Western so-called ‘civilised’ world) has to gain from AGW denial is the comforting belief that there is no need to consider any drastic changes from the current ‘normal’ mode of behaviour. They can carry on their consumerist ways, keeping up with the Joneses and buying into the latest gadgetry and media-driven fashion-consciousness safe in the knowledge that they are not complicit in the willful destruction of the beautiful planet we, uh, ‘share’.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Sammy Wilson MP – an ex-Environment Minister | Anthropocene Reality

  6. Pingback: Green Politics in a nutshell | Anthropocene Reality

  7. Pingback: Greedy Lying Bastards (the movie) | Anthropocene Reality

Leave a Reply

